From BMS undergrad to aspiring developer

Back in April 2023, I graduated as a Bachelor of Management Studies student majoring in Finance from a Mumbai University affiliate college.

I somehow was deeply not satisfied with the level of my skills and the knowledge that I had, I didn't really liked my degree to be honest.

I still love finance, although didn't really like the way it was being taught in my college.

I always had that sense of superiority for people in the tech industry, I knew that, they are the modern problem solvers, they are more curious, they tend to think different and I indeed wanted to learn to code since quite a long, although my past self never gave myself the opportunity.

Anyways, the eventual plan was to go for an MBA just like most of my peers, although I knew that once I go for an MBA there is no coming back to my thought of exploring tech. I felt maybe I should really give it a calculated thought and turns out there is not much of an entry barrier in tech. ANYONE CAN BE A PROGRAMMER. All it takes the ability to learn, the innate curiosity and lots of practice. I can literally make anything, i can bring my ideas to life, that's maximum leverage and I don't want to miss on this. So I made a decision to officially learn to code, cancelling every other plan that I had in my mind before.

I started off my journey by joining a online course, reason being I am too lazy and its hard for me to maintain a structure for studying, and I lack some discipline. So yeah, courses help, although majority of my learning happened via YouTube and just pure reading.

Started of with C++, followed by basic data structures and algorithms. This took me almost 4 months, I still haven't mastered DSA. But I guess mastery in DSA is anyways not what i aspired to do, but a basic level fundamental understanding is required and is super beneficial for the future developer journey.

As time flied 4 months, i decided its time to embark learning Development, the ultimate goal, to make products that solve world problems. This won't happen right aways, it will take months and years of sweat and blood to come to this point.

JavaScript is what i choose to be my tool, as it very widespread, used in both front-end and back-end, has powerful libraries like React , Node and Express, all the technologies to become a good entry level full stack developer.

Now the goal forward is to apply as I learn, currently as of today I am learning about DOM manipulation via JavaScript, and the goal is to make 2-3 mini- projects that implement DOM manipulation. I've made one which generates random colors for the texts in website when clicked.

The goal is to make many such mini-projects till eventually the day comes when I can finally make that one dream project of mine, till then keep on iterating your learnings and code .

The journey to become a Full stack developer is on..........

"In code, our knowledge gets wisdom when we actually start building things, learn more and write more code, make every keyboard click matter" - Raj Kunwar, nobody as of now